German Products 3: Housewarming Tradition

Bread and Salt

This product review is not for a consumer product per se, but is rather a product of German society and culture.

I had my first guest today!  My colleague came over so we could roughly outline our plans for the next month of class.  She arrived bearing gifts: a potted plant, a loaf of bread and a shaker of salt.  She explained to me that you always give bread and salt as a housewarming gift so the people who live there never go hungry.  What a great tradition!  The items were also oddly appropriate for me.  First of all, I had accidentally bought course sea salt, which adds an unpleasant crunch to everything from salads to eggs.  Now I had regular salt!  Second, she didn’t bring just any bread, although any German bread is by definition delicious; she brought pumpkin bread!  My favorite.  All of you who read my earlier post on pumpkin bread know that I am currently obsessed with it.  Finally, I love plants, even if I accidentally kill them.  All I had before was a vase full of wooden flowers.

To M.G.: Thanks for the gifts, and for introducing me to this tradition.  My house feels warmer already. 🙂

To all my friends at home:  Guess what you’re getting when you move.

About heidihefeweizen

I am a 29 year-old American woman who has received a Fulbright scholarship to work as an English teaching assistant in a German high school.
This entry was posted in German Products and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

