Thanksgiving #4: Thanksgiving 2011 in Damme

Enjoying our Dinner

Moin, readers!  I have to apologize for the brief hiatus in my posts.  Much has happened in the past week.  First, I got to welcome George, a.k.a. Dr. Hefeweizen, to Damme!  Second, Weihnachtsmarkt season kicked off last weekend.  Third, and finally, George and I celebrated Thanksgiving here in my apartment with a lovely group of ladies.  Lucky guy, huh? 😉

Hosting my first-ever Thanksgiving dinner had me a tad stressed.  Luckily, George was a good sport about taking care of the turkey.  The bird was a 4.4 Kg frozen model, which I had schlepped home in my bike basket on the Tuesday beforehand.  George roasted it beautifully, and even cooked the giblets for me on top of the stove.  We used the giblet stock for the gravy, and added the minced giblets to the stuffing for extra turkey-y goodness.  We also made homemade cranberry sauce, and my friends brought the rest.

Stuffing, carrots, gravy and Klöße, all bubbling away on my tiny stove

Dinner turned out wonderfully.  There were some minor bumps: a few people found out that there were giblets in the stuffing and were not thrilled, the French teachers were late from their department meeting (We all know they were just sitting around drinking red wine and smoking Gauloises), and George speaks hardly any German, but what’s a large get-together without a few issues?  Despite the “bumps,” lI think we all had a great time.

Finally, my friends gave me a pine Advent wreath to help get me ready for the holidays.  I have had incredible luck in terms of work colleagues at every job I have ever had, and this year, I am thankful to see that luck continue.  Vielen Dank, liebe Kolleginnen, für eine schöne Zeit bisher. Ich freue mich auf die kommenden Monate!  I am also thankful that George was able to join me Damme for some time.  I hope all of my readers had an excellent Thanksgiving!

Our Menu

  • Turkey
  • Stuffing
  • Gravy
  • Cranberry Sauce
  • Sautéed Carrots
  • Mashed Potatoes
  • Tossed Salad
  • Klöße (baseball-sized dumplings)
  • Apfelkuchen
  • Himbeertraum (Raspberry Dream)

And of course we took a series of Torture Photos.  Here are some:

Torture Picture #1

Quatschfoto!

George and die Mädels

About heidihefeweizen

I am a 29 year-old American woman who has received a Fulbright scholarship to work as an English teaching assistant in a German high school.
This entry was posted in Thanksgiving and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thanksgiving #4: Thanksgiving 2011 in Damme

  1. kathleen says:

    That sounds like an amazing Thanksgiving dinner! So impressed with everything you made, including taking on the turkey. (Giblets are often controversial, aren’t they?) The torture pictures are great — my favorite has got to be George among the Mädels.

    p.s. I’m so jealous of the Weihnachtsmarkt season — how’s the one in Damme?
    p.p.s. I hope someday I live somewhere close enough that we can hang out with you and George with some regularity.

  2. How very happy everyone looks!! What a grand Thanksgiving!!

  3. Steve says:

    Awesome! Happy Thanksgiving. Tell the good Dr. that we are glad he made it over to see you. We were hoping to see you in December but even if you two make it to the Burg for the Hooding, we will be in Florida. See you before too long I hope.

  4. Pingback: Carneval #4: “Vorfreude” and Heiligabend | The Adventures of Heidi Hefeweizen

Please leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

