Carneval #5: The Parade(s)

On Sunday, it was time for the main event… almost.  Northern Germany’s largest Carnevalsumzug, Carvenal parade, takes place on Sunday.  This is the parade for the Kinderprinz.  Then, because everyone likes the parade so much, they do the whole thing again on Monday for the Prinz.  This is the Rosenmontagsumzug, Shrove Monday/Rose Monday Parade.*  That’s why most of the floats are covered in handmade plastic roses.  My favorite part, though, are the little poems and puns on each one.  Nerd alert!

As I mentioned in a previous post, this year’s parade boasted over 240 floats and was attended by over 10,000 viewers. On Sunday, I watched the parade with my Zorro-clad friends and colleagues.  On Sunday, I was part of the parade with group #42.  On Saturday, it snowed, and on Sunday, it rained, but I don’t think it stopped anyone from coming out.  Of course, after the parade, you hit the tents and bars to continue celebrating the afternoon, evening and/or night away.   There are a lot of photos, but there was a lot to see.  See the links below for the news story!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

*I’ll be honest: I have no idea what Shrove Monday is.  I looked on Wikipedia, and apparently it’s just the name for the Monday before Ash Wednesday.

Links:

About heidihefeweizen

I am a 29 year-old American woman who has received a Fulbright scholarship to work as an English teaching assistant in a German high school.
This entry was posted in Carneval and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Carneval #5: The Parade(s)

  1. Hello Sweetheart!!! These carnivals are just wonderful !!! I hate for them to be over. Miss you but glad that life is exciting. Debbie

  2. kathleen says:

    I know Shrove Tuesday (aka fat tuesday) but never heard of that Monday being special. Do they eat pancakes on Shrove Monday? (Also, I will never tire of seeing the verb “to rock” in German form.)

Please leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

