Happy Worm Day! (A Tribute to Gummy Candy)

Meine Damen und Herrn, let me tell you a story.

Twenty-one years ago, on a rainy night in March, a new holiday was born: Worm Day.  After making his way through a parking lot littered with the corpses of earthworms, Dr. Lee Perry declared the day Worm Day.  The labor and delivery unit of a Beaver County hospital first celebrated Worm Day with a cake decorated with gummy worms.  The have since festivities spread, and people now celebrate Worm Day all over the world.

Sheila, Dr. Perry’s daughter and one of my best friends, introduced me to Worm Day.  I believe I was in the seventh grade.  I have eaten worm-themed desserts on March 15th ever since.  The other custom for Worm Day is to send a Worm fax or email (like a Christmas card).  This year, I am writing this post to Worm Day in lieu of a fax or email.  One usually celebrates Worm Day at work or school, and since I don’t work on Worm Day this year, I am celebrating with all of you, dear readers, here on my blog, aka my other “job.”

Since Worm Day celebrates humble gummy worm, I am also dedicating this post to the gummy.  When writing about Germany, it is impossible not to write about gummy candy.    As far as I’m concerned, gummy candy is as much a sign of German ingenuity as the diesel engine or the movable-type printing press.  What’s that, you say?  Gummy candy?  German?  Indeed.  Haribo, the innovators who came up with gummy technology, is a German company.  Even the name Haribo comes from the name of the founder and his home city: Hans Riegel Bonn.  Wahnsinn!  I can assure you that the gummies are prominent in this country and are one of my favorite features.  There are more variations than you can imagine, but my favorites still come in bear form.

I love Haribo, but I’ve also taken a recent liking to the Katje’s brand.  My current favorite are the salted licorice herrings.  It sounds gross, but it’s oh-so-good.  Bonus: Katje’s makes products with veggie-friendly ingredients, so vegetarians and vegans alike can get in on this sweet, salty gummy action.

Finally, if you ever have the chance to visit Germany, see if your town has a store called Bären-Treff.  This magnificent business is dedicated entirely to all things gummy.  The internet store is also worth perusing.  They always do seasonal items, but my personal choice would be the 11 cm. giant gummy bear.  (Insert Homer Simpson open-mouthed drooling groan sound here.)  Here are some gummies of note:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Worm Day has everything I look forward to in a holiday.  It’s fun, food- and friend-centered, and might be “utter nonsense.”  Perhaps this was the Carneval of my youth.

Links

About heidihefeweizen

I am a 29 year-old American woman who has received a Fulbright scholarship to work as an English teaching assistant in a German high school.
This entry was posted in German Products and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy Worm Day! (A Tribute to Gummy Candy)

  1. Uli says:

    I am reading your great post while it is still Pi Day around here (US), so we have this weird intersection of Pi Day and Worm Day racing around the planet with a speed of a little less than 1700 km/h (or about 1000 mph), a calculation for which one might, incidentally, invoke Pi. Is it therefore permitted to think about (Gummy-)Worm-Pies? Just a thought, although a mildly disgusting one. Don’t get me wrong, I love Pies and Gummyworms or -bears or -whatever. But not necessarily together.

    I never heard about the Katje brand of Gummy candy, though. I’m a bit disappointed in the lack of variety in the Haribo department in the US, although I’m glad that they have Gummybears (at Michael’s of all places) at least. One of these days I might get one of these giant Gummybears.

    Anyway, thank you for making me aware of Worm Day and making me think of Gummybears!

    • You and Babsi will definitely have to get in on this holiday! It’s perfect for you. Although, I don’t know how gummy pie would taste… I’m guessing it would be disgusting. Maybe you could think about 3.14 worms, or arrange them in a circle before eating. Then, of course, people might think you’re doing some weird Austrian ritual. 😉

  2. lemoutonnoir says:

    Baren. Treff. Is. The. Shit. My favorites from them are the 3-colored herzen, eidbeermilchshakes, and strawberry rhubarb. I never ordered the gummi pizza, but I always wanted it.

    • Bären-Treff is, in fact, the shit. I’m bummed to hear that Freiburg doesn’t have one. I will definitely check out the strawberry rhubarb. Thanks for the tip!

  3. kathleen says:

    I am going to begin observing Worm Day immediately. This is awesome! Any day that celebrates gummis is A-OK by me!

    Every time somebody I don’t mind sending on a mission heads to Germany, I consult http://www.fruchtgummi.de to see if there is a nearby location of Bären-Treff or one of its affiliates and send whoever it is with a list of things to bring back. The last time I was in Berlin I brought home about 10 pounds of gummis from there. I may or may not have a problem.

    Also: Freiburg no longer has a Bären-Treff! NOOOOOO!!! This is a travesty.

    • kathleen says:

      Oh, I also forgot to say that while I do see Katje’s around Atlanta, I steer clear because they tend to involve licorice, which is disgusting. I think I am going to have nightmares about salted licorice herrings. I’ll try out one of the more palatable options next time I see Katje’s. 🙂

    • You should definitely celebrate! Send a worm email or fax. I’ll remind you next year.

Please leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

