German Music #6: The Groove Department and die Fantastischen Vier

German Music # : The Groove Department and die Fantastischen Vier

I was watching an interview with Nikki Sixx on TV a few years ago because I’m white trash.  He was talking about how he met his [then] wife.  He was at a karaoke bar with some friends, when the DJ called a woman up who wanted to sing Aretha Franklin’s “Respect.”  After he saw the skinny white girl approach the stage to the sing that particular song, Nikki Sixx decided to leave.  Then, he heard her sing.  It was instant love.

Mr. Sixx’s experience parallels my own preconceived notions regarding soul music.  When I received the invitation to hear The Groove Department, a funk/soul group made up of music students from Oldenburg, I was more than skeptical.  I mean, c’mon.  Germans.  Soul?  I’ve heard these people clap.  On the other hand, I had a few Euro and nothing else to do, so I agreed to go.

Much like Nikki Sixx, I was wrong.  The Groove Department killed it!  The group has 10 musicians and four vocalists.  They opened with the Cameo’s “Word Up,” to which they added a verse of their own German lyrics.  I don’t think I have to explain why that is so clearly awesome, and it only got better from there.  They did Stevie Wonder, Adele, Jamiroquai, and Sam & Dave.  At a few points, the musicians wanted to involve the crowed, those who weren’t already up dancing, that is.  They started to lead the clapping, but alas, these beats just are not part of their musical heritage.  I don’t think the crowd enjoyed it any less because of it, though.  I remember thinking to myself, If they do “Superstition,” I can go home happy.  It was their second encore number.  I went home happy.

Also, if you watch the promo video on their website, know that doesn’t do them justice.

On the topic of soulful German music groups, the first that comes to mind is the iconic hip-hop group, Die Fantastischen Vier, or “Fanta 4” for short.  Part of what makes German rap so appealing is that the lyrics are easy to pick out for someone learning German.  In fact, I think every German student has a brush with the Fanta 4 mega-hit “Die da?!” in the classroom.  (I always use it to introduce demonstrative and relative pronouns.)  Fanta 4 is one of my favorite musical groups, German or otherwise.  Everyone knows them.  The music and lyrics are generally upbeat, and they use a lot of horns for a touch of funk and soul.  As with many long-lived musical groups, members of the group have had solo projects with varying degrees of success.  Most notable among them is Thomas D, who did the music for Lola Rennt (Run Lola Run).  All of you who were into electronic music circa 1999 (who me?) have probably heard this soundtrack,

If this sounds like your kind of thing, or if you’re looking for an introduction to German language or pop culture, I recommend starting with “Die da?!,” “Lass die Sonne Rein,” and “Sie ist weg.”  A word of warning: We’re talking about 90s hip-hop here, thus, the videos are ridiculous.

About heidihefeweizen

I am a 29 year-old American woman who has received a Fulbright scholarship to work as an English teaching assistant in a German high school.
This entry was posted in German Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to German Music #6: The Groove Department and die Fantastischen Vier

  1. cliff1976 says:

    Fanta 4 use suprisingly deep cuts in their samples on “4 Gewinnt”; my appreciation of soul, funk, and jazz has grown since “Die Da” and “Saft” were in heavy rotation back in 1992/3, and I keep running into their samples elsewhere. Nathan Davis’ “Stick Buddy” in “Hip Hop Musik” for example, or Aaron Neville’s “Hercules,” which leapt out at me as the outro to “Plattenspieler” thanks to the muzak in a Structure store in the mall in the early 2000’s.

    Thanks for the heads-up about The Groove Department. I’ll check ’em out. I’m always on the funk hunt.

  2. Steve says:

    A phrase I never thought I’d hear from Heidi…”Mr. Sixx’s experience parallels my own…”
    BTW…Sad news. PCHS Social Studies Pod didn’t win the Lotto.

  3. kathleen says:

    Oh man. Fanta 4 videos! This is gonna be good/cheesy as hell. Also, I love that you use “Die da” to teach grammar. You are clearly the best and coolest German teacher of all time.

Please leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

