My husband, the nerd

Clearly he was only half-joking that he wanted a wedding photo in these sunglasses.

I love my husband, but he is big-time nerd (but still so handsome, no?).  He writes code for a living, and I teach German.   When he tells me about work, which I welcome, I often have no idea what the hell he’s talking about.  He’s currently in training at his new job and has to take tests.  Here’s a snippet from tonight’s conversation:

  • Me: How’s your work coming along for the lab tomorrow?
  • Him: Pretty well.  I understand this code, but the syntax is ugly.
  • -Pause-
  • Me: That’s what she said.

So, yeah.  Sometimes I don’t know how to respond appropriately.  Of course my calling him a nerd is the big nerdy pot calling the kettle black.  This whole situation works for us because the only German he knows are the words “yes,” “no,” “beer” and “milk,” and the phrases “I don’t know,” and “May I use the bathroom.”  I can also say things to him that he doesn’t understand.  This, my friends, is how nerds keep it interesting.

I'm nothing if not supportive.

About heidihefeweizen

I am a 29 year-old American woman who has received a Fulbright scholarship to work as an English teaching assistant in a German high school.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My husband, the nerd

  1. kathleen says:

    Ah, nerd love! These photos are phenomenal. They also make me think of “Score, a direct hit!” Y’all may be nerds, but you’re the coolest!

  2. renedawnreda says:

    You are two of my favorite nerds. 😉

  3. Miguel-Handsome McAwesome says:

    I second that your husband is a nerd

  4. maryjo137 says:

    Nerdy or not, two of my favorite people!!!

Please leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

