52.5 Degrees

I did not plan to write a weather rant today, but the last few days have me so vexed.  I have to let it out.  Liebe Leute, today is June 6.  The high is 53°F.  It is raining.  It has been this way for at least a week.  I have worn a fleece jacket and a scarf (not just for fashion purposes) nearly everyday for ten months.  I turned on the heat two days ago.  It is daytime from 5am until after 10 pm.  I am going insane.

Damme lies at 52.5 degrees N.  I understand that this is a northern climate.  I don’t even like hot, sunny weather.  Exhibit A: Pittsburgh averages 59 clear days or 145 days that a local would consider sunny.  (Apparently there is some debate on the number, but even at 145, it’s still cloudy almost 2/3 of the year.)  Exhibit B: We spent our honeymoon in San Francisco in August.  Exhibit C: There is zero chance that I would ever live further south than Virginia.  Exhibit D: All of my family’s vacations included going either to Canada, to Michigan or further north within Pennsylvania.  Exhibit E: I am see-through pale.  When Neutrogena introduced SPF 105, I went outside feeling like a knight riding into battle with a suit of armor.

Here’s the thing, though:  Even people who don’t like hot weather enjoy the occasional change in the weather.  Everywhere I have ever lived has four seasons.  I like all four seasons.  You cannot enjoy constant sun if it never rains.  Likewise, you cannot enjoy staying in and watching a movie on a rainy day if it rains all the time.  With the exception of the one warm week in September, the two cold weeks in January, the freakishly warm weekend at the end of April, it has been 50°F and gray almost the entire time I have been here.  But that’s not all.  The plants and trees never die.  It is always green in the woods.  In fact, the only thing that has ever changed is the amount of daytime you get.  In December, you have approximately six minutes of daylight per day, while in June, the day never ends.

So I ask you, is this for real?  How can this place be real?  Is Fulbright even a real program, or are all 300 of us involved in some sort of experiment?  Maybe it’s a reality TV show, and whoever notices the weird-ass weather patterns first wins.  Furthermore, how can there be seventeen hours of “daytime” everyday with no sun?!???

One thing is for sure: the birds never stop chirping.

(Also, a Fulbright reality show would kill.  Picture it: different country every season.   Call me.  I have ideas.)

About heidihefeweizen

I am a 29 year-old American woman who has received a Fulbright scholarship to work as an English teaching assistant in a German high school.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 52.5 Degrees

  1. ecarafioleth says:

    The Real World: Fulbright would be awesome! I totally hear ya on the weather – it’s ridiculous! However, I love me all this daylight! I’m not sure about Damme but it’s going back up to the 70s in Braunschweig tomorrow and will hopefully stay there.

  2. kathleen says:

    This post reminds me of this classic clip from Waiting for Guffman: http://www.maxim.com/maximtv/crop-circle-weather-waiting-guffman

    (please excuse the location of the video… that was the only place I found it. So bizarre.)

Please leave a reply. I'd love to hear from you!

